Love every man…

image

image

If only we really believed this truth…

If only we genuinely treated others according to this truth…

We are all guilty of measuring our own piety according to the least common denominators. We easily say with presumed sincerity, “yes, Lord, I am a sinner, but at least I’m not a murderer, or a homosexual, or a ________________ or a _______________ (fill in your most heinous sins)…” thoughts all too common among all too many Christians. We aren’t called to compare ourselves to secular man, nor to our brothers and sisters, but to Christ’s perfection. For as Paul reminds us, “There is none righteous, no, not one; there is no one who understands; there is none who seeks after God… there is none who does good, no, not one…” ~ Romans 3:10ff

Abba Father, help me to cling to genuine humility in the true knowledge that I am but dust and, like Paul, the chief of sinners. I know that You, O Lord, have not dealt with me according to my sins, but have indeed – even in the midst of my shame and dishonor – shown me great mercy. Help me to remember this when dealing with my fellow man. Lord have mercy. Amen.

Leave a Reply

