Save me whether I want it or not!

image

I know, Lord, that I am unworthy of Thy love for mankind. Indeed, I am worthy of every condemnation and torment. Yet, Lord, save me whether I want it or not! When Thou savest the righteous it is no great thing. When Thou hast mercy on the pure, it causes no wonder, for they are worthy of Thy mercy. Astound us with Thy mercy towards me, a sinner. Reveal in this manner Thy love for mankind, that my wickedness may not overcome Thine inexpressible goodness and mercy. As Thou wilt, order in my life!

~ A prayer of Saint John of Damascus

Leave a Reply

